Out of Range

We start our day bright and early tomorrow.  Have to be at the Kahana to start loading at 8am.  It should take around 3 hours to complete.  Then we clean the bunkhouse, the house we have been calling home for almost 4 weeks.  I have to start eating the food I have here…I better get started soon.  We will be doing final move in to the boat at around 4pm.  That includes our personal tote for our cabins that hold things like our snorkeling gear, boat clothes, a couple of sets of quarantine clothes for when we get to the island, and in my case, snacks (thanks mom for sending even more!).  Then we are going to be eating at Gordon Biersch, a Fish and Wildlife personal hot spot and do dinner.  Then off to the theater to see the Bach B Minor being performed by Honolulu Symphony Orchestra.  After the performance, we head to our new temporary home and board the Kahana one last time before heading out.  We leave Saturday morning at around 7am and start our three day journey to Johnston Atoll.  It is located 717 miles west southwest of Hawaii, Hawaii being the closest land to our soon to be home.  

Image

It is in the middle of no where.  There is dial-up speed internet on the island so I will be able to blog from there.  However, the boat does not have internet and my stuff will be loaded up by 4pm tomorrow, Friday.  This may be my last post until Monday.  Wish me luck, I hope I don’t get sea sick, and look for my life confirming blog hopefully on Monday!  

9 responses to “Out of Range

  1. Safe travels. I can only imagine what it will feel like when you finally arrive at the atoll and see it for the first time after a long boat ride.

  2. Talking to Caitlin while she still has cell service. The boat has left Hawaii, but they’ll be able to see land for about another hour. She’s on her way!

  3. They made it! Got an email late last night that the crew had arrived, but the internet was sketchy. The “place is cool” – more details to follow!

Leave a comment