Spam Jam

So today was the 25th annual Spam Jam.  It is a festival all about Spam.  Local restaurants come out and sell their prized Spam menu items.  Items such as, Spam Tacos, Spam Sliders, Spam ice cream, and Spam sushi.  It was weird.  They had people dressed in Spam can costumes and there were local bands playing on stages in the closed streets of Waikiki.  I guess last year, the event brought out 25,000 people.  I wouldn’t be surprised if there were more people this year.  It was so hard to walk in the street with an endless supply of weaving people.   Image After the festival, we ended up at two bars, one local and one touristy.  I was a little scared of the local one…I felt like a tourist.  It ended up being all of the cast members, one of the member’s friend, the boss, his girl friend, and her friend.  It was a lot of fun.  Wildlife alert: on the way there I saw a red-crested cardinal!  Very pretty!

Image

7 responses to “Spam Jam

  1. They sure love spam there! They sell these spam sandwiches at a lot of gas stations in Hawaii. I can’t remember the name of the sandwich but everyone loves them. I didn’t eat one. I don’t normally like my meals from the gas station. They take spam very serious.

  2. I’m shocked at some of the stuff they make with spam. Spam Cheesecake? I read they even serve spam at the fast food places in Hawaii…

Leave a comment