Experiencing Hawaii

Headed out bright and early this Saturday morning to explore the island of O’ahu.  The plan was to drive east and then north along the coast then cut the island in half and drive south down the middle back to Honolulu.  We took the mountain route to get to the east coast.  There was a scenic pull out and it was very scenic.

Image

Then we made it to Kauloa Point and got to see Chinaman’s Hat (Mololi’i).  It was amazing.  It is located about 1/3 of a mile off Kualoa Point.  The water there was so warm and clear.  We stayed there for about an hour walking in the water and taking pictures.

Image

After that we headed to Kahana Bay.  I think it is my favorite place so far.  It was just breath-taking.  The colors of the mountains and the water.  I kind of teared up it was so beautiful.  I have never seen anything close to this.  Even in movies or tv shows just doesn’t do it justice.  The sand was perfect.  Warm and soft and like that into the water…not a rock to be found.

DSCF5759

We spent a lot of time there.  I swam for about an hour.  The water was warm and salty…it was perfect.  There were three surfers and the five of us…we had the whole bay to ourselves.  I’m not sure why there weren’t more people there, but I thank them for not being there!  The boys threw the frisbee, Katrina took a bunch of pictures of these camouflaged crabs that were moving a little too fast for my liking.

DSCF5780

After that we made a couple of stops to take pictures of the ocean on the way to Shark’s Cove.  We had lunch first from food trucks…cool!  Sharks’s cove is like this giant tide pool.  If you go, wear boat shoes…or don’t climb the razor sharp rocks like I did.  Ouch.  I got some pretty cool pictures, so it was worth it!  Also, might come in handy if you don’t watch your step.  There are tons of sea urchin!  Very pretty sea urchin.

DSCF5936

We must have spent a long time there, because before we knew it, it was after 3 o’clock.  We all wanted to get to the Dole Plantation, so we headed out.  Before we even got to the plantation, we were seeing acres of pineapple growing from the road.  A lot of pineapple.  We did the pineapple maze, which I am told is the worlds largest maze, covering over 3 acres and contains over 2 miles of maze route.  It took us just under an hour to complete.  We visited the gift shop and quickly left after seeing the prices.  Today was a great day.  I feel like I got a good since of Hawaii and got to see only a fraction of what it has to offer.  At the end of the day, I came home with a smile on my face along with a pretty nice sunburn.  I am rockin’ the reverse raccoon look right now.  Sorry mom, I tried.

7 responses to “Experiencing Hawaii

  1. I’m so happy you’re there Caitlin! I had never seen anything so beautiful either. I would always get choked up knowing that parts of the world looked like that. Glad your having a great time. I can’t believe you found something you could actually eat off of a good truck! That’s AWESOME! Keep the posts and pics coming!! I love reading about your life down there! Xx

Leave a comment